March 4, 2017



The International Business Conference (IBC) has three main goals, namely:

  1. To provide an international platform for the presentation, discussion and debate of different academic and professional approaches and research on recent developments in an ever-turbulent business and political arena.
  2. To provide the opportunity for academics, practitioners and post-graduate students to have their work validated and benchmarked within the benevolent academic and professional community.
  3. To create a pleasant and enjoyable environment to serve the first two goals where delegates can also relax, get to know their fellow academia informally, and truly build their networks.


All the previous IBC conferences have met the criteria for subsidy set by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). At present, the 2018 conference, which was held in Mauritius, is undergoing the rigorous process to qualify for subsidy. (We positively await the outcome; however, take note that this is normally a two-year process at DHET.)


IBC Board

Prof Stéphan van der Merwe (NWU)
Prof Kobus Jonker (NMMU)
Prof Christo Bisschoff (NWU)
Prof Mornay Roberts-Lombard (UJ)
Prof Eileen Mazibuko (NMMU)
Prof Geoff Bick (UCT)
Dr Johan van Zyl (UFS)
Prof Edward Rankhumise (TUT)
Prof Deon Nel (RU)
Prof Jo Nel (UL)
Prof Charlene Gerber (USB)
Prof Kai Wellner (Nurnberg, Germany)

IBC Conference Chair

Prof Stéphan van der Merwe (NWU)

IBC Executive Committee

Prof Stéphan van der Merwe (Chair & Research Director)
Prof Mornay Roberts-Lombard (Marketing Director)
Dr Johan van Zyl (Finance Director)
Vacant (Organising Director)

IBC Scientific Committee

Prof Stéphan van der Merwe (Chair)
Prof Christo Bisschoff

IBC Organising Committee

Mr Albrecht Strydom (Organising Coordinator)
Tel: +27 (0) 18 299 4067

Registration Process Contact

Mr Johan Jordaan
Tel: +27 (0) 18 299 1338